PL LISTS!! City Top 10 Federal Government Universities In Nigeria

Despite the obvious hiccups in the education sector in Nigeria, there are some tertiary institutions owned by the Federal Government that still offers quality education to students.

This they have achieved over the years through an efficient University Management system, good administration, and instilling some element of discipline in students.
Based on popular opinion and some obvious fact, we present to you the top 10 Federal Government-owned universities in Nigeria.

See Top 10 Federal Government Owned Universities In Nigeria:-

10. University Of Jos (UNIJOS)

The University Of Jos was established in 1971 as a satellite campus of the University of Ibadan.
The institution which started with some set of pre-degree students began its Bachelor of Arts degree programme in 1973.
The fast-paced growth of the Institution compelled General Muritala Mohammed to declare the Unijos as a separate institution cutting off its ties with the University of Ibadan.
Meanwhile, since the establishment of UNIJOS as an independent institution, the school has grown to be one of the best Nigerian universities and the second-best in the Northern region of the country.

9. Federal University Of Agriculture, Abeokuta (FUNAAB)

The Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Ogun State (FUNAAB) was established on January 1, 1988 by the Federal Government.
The school was formerly merged with the University of Lagos as College of Science and Technology, Abeokuta (COSTAB) in 1984 before the merger was dissolved in January 1988.
The university is known to be number 1 in Nigeria when it comes to Agricultural Studies and has produced many graduates who are doing fantabulously well in the field of agriculture and food production in Nigeria.

8. University Of Benin (UNIBEN)

After her establishment in 1970, the University Of Benin has grown to be one of the most reputable Tertiary Institutions owned by the Federal Government.
The University started out as an Institute of Technology and was accorded the status of a full-fledged University by National Universities Commission (NUC) on 1st July 1971.
Now, University Of Benin has a robust academic system that contains a good number of Faculties, Departments, Institutes, and Units, offering courses at postgraduate, undergraduate, diploma and certificate levels.

7. Federal University Of Technology, Minna (FUTMINNA)

This University was established at a point when Nigeria needed to be making move towards being a self-reliant Nation in the field of Science and Technology.
As the name implies, the Federal University Of Technology, Minna (FUTMINNA) with many years record of excellence in Biotechnology, Genetic Engineering with core competence in the development of vaccines and drugs.

6. University Of Ibadan (UI)

Despite being the oldest University in Nigeria, the University of Ibadan still stands to be one of the best universities to attend in Nigeria.
The University has a perfect academic structure for all the 13 faculties in it.
Some celebrated names in Nigeria are products of the University of Ibadan, people like; Chinua Achebe, J. P. Clark, Ken Saro Wiwa, Wole Soyinka, Farida Waziri among others.

5. University Of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN)

As founded by Late Nnamdi Azikwe in 1955, the University of Nigeria is the first land-grant university in Africa and the first autonomous university in Nigeria modeled upon the American educational system.
UNN is located in Nsukka the heart of Enugu State Nigeria, the school offers 82 undergraduate programs and 211 postgraduate programmes.

4. Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU)

This University is formerly named, University Of Ife before it was renamed in loving memory of Late Yoruba political Icon, Obafemi Awolowo.
Established in 1962, this university is one of the largest in the country in terms of landmass as it covers a land expanse of 11,862 hectares.
Obafemi Awolowo is one of the foremost universities in Nigeria having produced Nobel Laureate, as well as many National Merit award winners.
No doubt, this school has a favourable public image and of course, it still remains of the best FG owned Institution to attend in Nigeria.

3. Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) Zaria

Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) was founded on 4 April 1962, as the University of Northern Nigeria. The school is one of the best federal government-owned universities in Northern Nigeria.
Apart from running a wide variety of graduate and undergraduate programmes, ABU has a large medical programme with its own ABU Teaching Hospital, one of the largest teaching hospitals in Nigeria and Africa.
By records, most Northern Nigeria leaders graduated from this reputable institution.

2. University Of Ilorin (UNILORIN)

This institution one out of seven tertiary institutions established by a decree of the then Federal Military Government in 1975.
The decree was geared towards providing more opportunities for Nigerians to have access to quality University Education.
The University of Ilorin is no doubt living up to its purpose by producing sellable graduates that can compete at the highest level in various fields.
As located in Ilorin, Kwara State Nigeria, UNILORIN has produced notable people like; Femi Adebayo, Sarah Alade, Ezekiel Adebiyi, Abdul Rasheed Na’Allah, Johnson Bamidele Olawumi, Nkem Owoh among others.

1. University Of Lagos (UNILAG)

The University of Lagos is unarguably the best among all Federal Government owned Universities in Nigeria which is why it is always the first choice for many Nigerians who are looking to get admitted into tertiary institutions.
The University was established in 1962 and since then it has grown to be a pacesetter in almost all areas of academic studies.
The university offers many courses across numerous Faculties such as Arts, Social Sciences, Business Administration, Law, Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Engineering/Technology, School of Clinical Sciences, School of Basic Medical Sciences, School of Dental Sciences, Pharmacy and Education.
Notable graduates of the institution include; Oba Rilwan Akiolu, Wale Adenuga, Omoyele Sowore, Gbenga Daniel, Wale Babalakin, Yemi Osinbajo and a host of others.
The End!!

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.