BREAKING: APC Wins Bauchi Assembly Bye-Election In Dogara’s Constituency

The opposition All Progressives Congress (APC) in Bauchi State has won the Dass State Constituency bye-election held on Saturday.

The APC candidate, Bala Lukshi won the keenly contested election with a total of 12,299 votes to defeat his closest rival, Lawal Wandi of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Wandi polled a total of 11, 062 votes to come second in the election, which observers said was largely peaceful.

The result was announced early Sunday morning by the Returning Officer for the election, Professor Ahmed Mohammed of the Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU), Bauchi.

The victory of the APC in the bye-election, some schools of thought believe, is a victory for a former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, as the election was held in one of the three Local Government Areas he represents in the National Assembly.

Dogara who recently returned to APC on which platform he emerged Speaker before he defected to PDP in the buildup to the 2019 general elections, represents Bogoro/Tafawa Balewa/Dass Federal Constituency.


No comments:

Powered by Blogger.